Spread the love
February 22, 2024

Abuja Transport and Aviation Correspondents Association gets new executives

Spread the love

By Lucy Ogalue

Mr Chris Agabi, the immediate past Chairman of the Abuja Transport and Aviation Correspondents (ATACA), on Saturday in Abuja described the 2023 election of the association as the most free, fair and credible polls.

Agabi of the Daily Trust Media, commended the Electoral Committee for the job well done before, during and after the election that produced the successful candidates.

The Electoral committee consisted of the Chairman, Mrs Adaku Eneh of Federal Radio Corporation (FRCN), Mrs Lucy Nwachukwu, of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) and Mr Nats Odaudu of Nigerian Times, as members.

Agabi also commended all contestants for behaving themselves by complying with the association`s electoral guideline to ensure that ATACA actualised smooth election in 2023.

“I want to commend the electoral committee for a well-coordinated election. I am impressed with their performance. Honestly speaking, the team sustained rules and regulations throughout the electoral exercise.
“Indeed, I clearly observed that the contestants exhibited maturity before, during and after the electoral process. May God keep blessing ATACA and take the association to greater heights,“ he said.
Earlier, the 2023 ATACA Electoral Committee Chairman, Eneh, announced the results of the congress election that saw newly elected executive members emerge for the association.
According to her, Mr Oru Leonard of News Dot Africa, an online medium, who emerged as Chairman, polled 9 votes to defeat his rivals Mr Idu Jude, of the Sun newspaper, who garnered 8 votes and Mr Ejike Ejike of Leadership newspaper, who got 7 votes.
Eneh said the post of General-Secretary went to Mr Gabriel Agbeja, a Principal Correspondent with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), who scored 24 unopposed votes.
“The Vice-Chairmanship position went to Mrs Ogar Franscisca of ITV, who gathered 18 votes unopposed. Mrs Aminat Aminu-Isah of Royal news, an online medium, got 22 votes unopposed to become the Association’s Assistant General-Secretary.
“Mr Ugwu Chidiebere of Daily Independent, was elected unopposed with 23 votes to occupy the seat of Welfare Officer. The post of Financial Secretary went to Mrs Falaju Joke, who picked 20 votes unopposed.
“Also, the treasurer’s position went to Tyavezua Saanyol of Nigerian Tribune , who got 23 votes unopposed while Mr Sumaina Kasim of ThisDay newspaper, was elected with 19 votes to occupy the seat of Public Relation Officer (PRO),“ she said.
Eneh added that the total number of eligible voters was 24, total number of invalid votes was 20 while total number of votes cast was 173.
The newly-elected executive members were immediately sworn in for a two-year tenure.
Eneh urged all newly-executive members to be faithful in discharging their responsibilities and fulfilling their promises.
The newly-elected ATACA Chairman, Mr Leonard, appealed to members of the association to support the newly–elected officials to move the association to greater heights.
“The new executive members can hardly achieve meaningful progress in the association without the support of all members,” he added.
Leonard also vowed to work with other executive members in love, unity and mutual understanding to collectively promote integrity of the association. (NAN) (www.nannews.ng)

Edited by Vincent Obi

error: Content is protected !!