December 5, 2021


Africa's Media Giant

Enugu State NMA gets new leadership

Enugu State chapter of Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), elects new executive committee (exco), with Dr Jude Onyia as Chairman.

By Stanley Nwanosike

The Enugu State chapter of the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA), has elected a new executive committee (exco), with Dr Jude Onyia as the Chairman.

Onyia, who works with the Enugu State University Teaching Hospital, polled 317 votes to defeat his rival, Dr Akpe James, who polled 258 votes.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the election, which began on Saturday night at the National Orthopaedic Hospital, Enugu, dragged into the early hours of Sunday morning.

In an acceptance speech during a brief swearing-in ceremony, Onyia urged all the contestants in the election to join hands with the exco to take the association to greater height.

He said: “I want to assure you that the new exco will deliver and take Enugu state NMA to greater height.

“In the recent past, we have fought one another over minor disagreements but I believe that now and today begin the healing and reconciliation process.

“We are going to embrace everybody that contested in the election.

“We will not have any reason to disrespect our elders in the association or our teachers, no matter the situation.

“We will ensure that the vibrancy of the youth, which this new exco exudes, would be utilised in the positive way.

“We will use our vibrancy to re-unite NMA members and make it strong in the state.

“The exco will ensure that the welfare of members is protected always.”
He thanked his supporters and the electoral committee for adhering to the rules of the association.

“This explains why we had a hitch-free, credible and fair election,” Onyia, otherwise called JOT (Jude Onyia Tony), said.

Earlier, Dr Daiyabu Ibrahim, the Chairman, Caretaker Committee of the body, advised the new officers to embrace peace and carry every member along.

Ibrahim, who was also the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, called on the exco to ensure they delivered on their mandate and campaign promises.

“Today is one of the happiest days in the life of the association and I thank you all for your support toward this very peaceful, transparent and hitch-free election,” he said.

Other officers include Dr Ifedinso Ugwoke (Secretary), Dr Cyril Uzoke and Dr Uzoamaka Ezenwugo, who were returned unopposed as Assistant Secretary and Public Relations Officer.

The rest are Dr Chikezie Ogbologu (Vice Chairman), Dr Ethel Obodo (Treasurer), Dr Ejike Ijoma (Financial Secretary) and Dr Augustus Ugwu (Social Secretary).

NAN recalls that the National Secretariat of the association set-up a caretaker committe to oversee the affairs of the Enugu state chapter, after its Aug. 6 election turned violent and inconclusive. (NAN)