Spread the love
April 14, 2024
You are currently viewing Okonjo-Iweala, Alakija, others nominated for Africa Heritage Awards
Prof. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Okonjo-Iweala, Alakija, others nominated for Africa Heritage Awards

Spread the love

By Dorcas Jonah

Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, Director-General of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) has been nominated as a recipient for the Africa Heritage Awards (AHA) 2024.

The awards scheduled to hold in Johannesburg, South Africa on April 13, would be bestowed on Okonjo-Iweala for her role in advancing the image of African women in leadership.

The Chairman of Heritage Times and the organisers of the event, Mr Moses Siasia, said in statement on Tuesday in Abuja.

According to him, this year’s awards will be chaired by former President of Botswana, Seretse Khama Ian Khama, and will be attended by former Heads of States and Captains of Industries across Africa.

”The event which is in its 2nd edition is strategically organised to celebrate and recognise outstanding global accomplishments of Africans within the continent and in the Diaspora

”It is aimed at celebrating outstanding personalities in Business, Politics, Philanthropy, Entertainment and Arts, Culture, Science and Technology, and Social Innovation.

”The event is also used to foster the African culture of excellence, promote Afrocentrism, and create an ecosystem that will further retell the true African story towards the advancement of the continent’s full potentials.

“The award also focuses on people in areas of Business, Politics, Philanthropy, Entertainment and Arts, Culture, Science and Technology and Social Innovation,” he said.

Siasia listed other shortlisted awardees to include Mr & Mrs Strive Masiyiwa, Founder & Executive Chairman of International Technology Groups, Econet Global and Cassava Technologies as well as Adebayo Ogunlesi, Chairman/Managing Partner, Global Infrastructure Partners.

He said that Mrs Folorunsho Alakija, Managing Director of the Rose of Sharon Group and Executive Vice Chairman of Famfa Oil Limited would also be honoured.

“Her Excellency, Mama Rachael Ruto, First Lady of the Republic of Kenya & Founder of Mama Doing Good Organisation will also be honoured for her outstanding contributions to the advancement of humanity.

“Professor Thulisile Nomkhosi Madonsela, Founder of the Thuli Madonsela Foundation; Victoire Tomegah Dogbe, Prime Minister of Togo; ; Othman Benjelloun, Co-chair of BMCE Bank Foundation and Madam Graca Machel, Founder of Graca Machel Trust will be honoured too.

“The Awards will focus on the critical importance of culture and leadership, which lies at the core of any shared advancement of socio-economic and political development in Africa.

“The Awards is also primed to cast a spotlight on individuals who, under challenging circumstances, have empowered Africans and impacted their sphere of influence to pave the way for sustainable and equitable development,” Siasia said. (NAN)(www.nannews.ng)

Edited by Isaac Aregbesola

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
error: Content is protected !!
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x